Celebrating Baseball’s Finest: The 2023 MLB Awards Season


As the crisp autumn air signals the end of another thrilling Major League Baseball season, the time has come to honor the players and managers whose performances have captivated us through the spring and summer months. The Baseball Writers’ Association of America, in conjunction with MLB, unveiled the finalists for its prestigious annual awards on a Monday night that was abuzz with anticipation. The awards recognize the Most Valuable Player (MVP), Cy Young, Rookie of the Year, and Manager of the Year.

Regular Season Excellence

It’s crucial to remember that these awards focus on regular-season achievements. They are not influenced by the dramatic heroics of October baseball, the votes are cast as the regular season wanes. The term “finalists” may imply a subsequent round of voting, but in reality, these three individuals per category are the top vote-getters, vying for the ultimate acknowledgment of their talents and contributions.

The Awaited Schedule

The MLB has set a detailed schedule for the award announcements, ensuring that fans mark their calendars for these special evenings. Here’s when the baseball world will hold its collective breath:

  • Monday, Nov. 13: Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year
  • Tuesday, Nov. 14: Manager of the Year
  • Wednesday, Nov. 15: Cy Young
  • Thursday, Nov. 16: Most Valuable Player

These dates will feature the crowning of eight individuals across both leagues who have etched their names into the annals of baseball history.

The Contenders

Rookie of the Year – The Future Stars

The Rookie of the Year finalists stand as heralds of what’s to come, showcasing talents that promise to shine in the coming years.

American League Rookies

  • Tanner Bibee, Guardians
  • Triston Casas, Red Sox
  • Gunnar Henderson, Orioles

National League Rookies

  • Corbin Carroll, Diamondbacks
  • James Outman, Dodgers
  • Kodai Senga, Mets

Manager of the Year – The Strategic Maestros

These field generals have outmaneuvered opponents and maximized their rosters’ potential, earning the respect and admiration of their peers and pundits alike.

American League Managers

  • Bruce Bochy, Rangers
  • Kevin Cash, Rays
  • Brandon Hyde, Orioles

National League Managers

  • Craig Counsell, Brewers
  • Skip Schumaker, Marlins
  • Brian Snitker, Braves
Gerrit Cole

Cy Young – The Arms of Gold

The Cy Young Award finalists are the embodiment of pitching excellence, their arms having crafted many a gem throughout the season.

American League Pitchers

  • Gerrit Cole, Yankees
  • Kevin Gausman, Blue Jays
  • Sonny Gray, Twins

National League Pitchers

  • Zac Gallen, Diamondbacks
  • Blake Snell, Padres
  • Logan Webb, Giants

Most Valuable Player – The Pinnacle of Performance

The MVP finalists represent the crème de la crème, players whose performances have not only led their teams to success but have also inspired fans and aspiring players across the globe.

American League MVPs

  • Shohei Ohtani, Angels
  • Corey Seager, Rangers
  • Marcus Semien, Rangers

National League MVPs

  • Ronald Acuña Jr., Braves
  • Mookie Betts, Dodgers
  • Freddie Freeman, Dodgers

Deep Dive: The Significance of the MLB Awards

The MVP Award – A Legacy of Greatness

The MVP is perhaps the most prestigious individual award a player can receive. Past winners include immortals like Babe Ruth, Willie Mays, and Barry Bonds. It’s not just a testament to a player’s ability but to their importance to their team’s fortunes.

The Cy Young – Pitching’s Ultimate Accolade

Named after the legendary pitcher Cy Young, this award has been synonymous with pitching excellence since its inception in 1956. It’s an award that has recognized the dominance of Sandy Koufax, the longevity of Warren Spahn, and the sheer brilliance of Pedro Martinez.

Rookie of the Year – A Glimpse into the Future

Winning the Rookie of the Year sets a player on a path followed by the likes of Derek Jeter, Ichiro Suzuki, and Mike Trout. It’s not just a celebration of a single season’s performance but an acknowledgment of potential greatness.

Manager of the Year – The Tactician’s Reward

This award goes to the skipper who has most effectively steered his team through the 162-game odyssey that is the MLB regular season. Past winners have included the innovative Tony La Russa and the ever-strategic Joe Maddon.

The Impact of the Awards

The announcement of the finalists sets the stage for debate and discussion among fans and experts alike. The impact of winning one of these awards can be career-defining. For players, it’s validation of their efforts and often a stepping stone to lucrative contracts and endorsements. For managers, it’s recognition of their leadership and ingenuity.

A Reflection of the Season

As we reflect on the finalists and their achievements, let’s remember the moments that defined this MLB season: the no-hitters, the walk-offs, the clutch hits, and the defensive gems. These awards are as much about these singular moments of magic as they are about the months of consistent excellence.

In Anticipation of the Announcement

With the official announcement of the winners on the horizon, the baseball world waits with bated breath. Whether it be the multi-talented Shohei Ohtani or the masterful Gerrit Cole, the dynamic Ronald Acuña Jr. or the strategic genius of Craig Counsell, each finalist has already won in the hearts and minds of fans.

Conclusion: A Season to Remember

The 2023 MLB awards will go down as a fitting tribute to a season of highs and lows, of breakout stars and seasoned veterans reminding us of their brilliance. These awards remind us why we cherish the game of baseball, with its rich history and its unending capacity to surprise, inspire, and unite us in celebration of extraordinary achievement.

General Sport Observer Marc Defaou
reviewed by: Marc Defaou (Sport Expert)

Share this article

More News
More links
Follow us