IPL 2023 Format & New Rules: Complete Information

India national cricket team

IPL Format 2023

  • The IPL 2023 season is scheduled to be played on a home-and-away format, reviving the excitement of watching cricket at home.
  • There will be 74 matches between the 10 competing teams in total.
  • Competition Stages: The group stage and playoffs that have been a part of the tournament since last year will remain.

IPL 2023 Format Information

  • The 10 competing teams will be split into two groups of five teams each.
  • Each club will compete in 14 matches during the group round. One against the four teams in the opposite group, two against the remaining team, and two against the other four teams in their group are among them.
  • Point System: The IPL Points Table system is still in place, with the winning team receiving 2 points, the losing team receiving 0 points, and both teams receiving 1 point in the event of a tie or no outcome.
  • Playoff Structure: Using the Page playoff format, the playoffs will consist of a four-game stage.
  • First qualifying round: matchup between the top two teams from the group stage.
  • Between the groups’ third and fourth-placed teams, in the elimination round.
  • Between the loser of Qualifier 1 and the victor of the Eliminator is Qualifier 2.
  • Final: between the qualifier 1 and qualifier 2 champions.

2023 IPL: New Rules

  • Impact Player Rule: The BCCI will introduce the Impact Player Rule for the IPL 2023 season, which will be a significant development in the history of the competition.
  • Team Sheet Modifications: In the IPL 2023, team captains will be able to enter with two distinct team sheets and choose their final playing 11 after the toss, allowing them to modify their squad in response to the toss outcome.

The Impact Player Rule’s main points

  • Unless there are less than 4 foreign players in the playing XI, only an Indian player can be an impact player.
  • During the toss, teams must choose four substitutions in addition to their starting eleven, only one of whom may be an impact player.
  • A captain cannot be an Impact Player.
  • Each match allows for the usage of one Impact Player for each team, but it is not required.

Additional Modifications to the IPL 2023 Review System

  • The Decision Review System (DRS) will have two reviews accessible per inning in the IPL 2023, and players can now review wides and no-balls while games are in progress.
  • COVID-19 Provisions: The BCCI will endeavour to reschedule the match for a later date in the IPL 2023 season if a team is unable to field its starting XI owing to Covid-19.
  • Super Over Rules: In playoff or championship games, the club that ended higher in the league shall be crowned the victor if a Super Over or any future Super Overs cannot be completed for any reason.
Best indian cricket players 2023

IPL Auction Rules for 2023

The BCCI has made the decision to organise a mini auction for the IPL 2023 season. The guidelines for the auction are as follows:

  • No organisation will be able to spend more money on a player than they have left in their budget.
  • At least 75% of each team’s budget must be spent.
  • For franchises, the Right to Match (RTM) card won’t be available.
  • Each team should consist of no more than 25 individuals, with a minimum of 18 players.
  • The maximum number of Indian players per franchise is 25, the minimum number is 17, and there is no upper limit on the number of foreign players.

IPL 2023: Home Grounds 

Because the 2023 IPL season will be a home-and-away format, the following locations will serve as the teams’ homes:

  • Chennai M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, Super Kings
  • Arun Jaitley Stadium, home of the Delhi Capitals
  • Narendra Modi Stadium, home of the Gujarat Titans
  • Kolkata Eden Gardens in Knight Riders
  • BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium is home to the Lucknow Super Giants.
  • Stadium for the Mumbai Indians is Wankhede.
  • Inderjit Singh Bindra Stadium hosts the Punjab Kings.
  • Sawai Mansingh Stadium, home of the Rajasthan Royals
  • Queen’s Challengers M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore
  • Sunrisers Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad
reviewed by: Colin Combs (Chief Editor)

Share this article

More News
More links
Follow us